Friend of the Week: Katie Krebs

Katie Krebs

noun

/kAI-tee/ /krEHbz/

1. Adorable Arborist.

2. Country girl at heart & adventurous hiker. 

3. Kick Ass Auntie and Gypsy's Mama.

4. Most likely to moon a stranger. 🍑 


How do we know each other?

High School. Not sure how we first met, but the earliest memory I have of us is on a long road-trip touring colleges in SoCal. This excursion could also be listed below as one of my most embarrassing moments. I believe it’s mentioned several times in our yearbook, but we won’t be going there today.

Where are you from?

Originally? The cuts. I grew up in a little hobbit cabin in the Santa Cruz Mountains near a small census-designated area called La Honda. No stop light or gas station, giant redwoods, wave as you drive by kind of place. Close to the beach and just far enough from town.

What's a day in the life of Katie Krebs like?

Uhhh…dirty, but fun? As an arborist, I spend most of my time inspecting trees. Customers are always pulling leaves out of my hair or wiping spiders off my shoulder, but since I’m transitioning from working as a commercial tree care account manager to a private arborist consultant, I spend more time indoors. Other than that, lots of hikes, dance classes, cooking healthy meals with my hunny, cleaning, errands and trying to keep my dog Gypsy out of trouble.

 

What's your greatest attribute?

Definitely not the ability to brag about myself 😊 I guess my willingness to forgive easily.

Favorite thing about living in the Bay Area?  

Our access to the mountains, beach, city, good restaurants and great weather. Aside from the insane housing prices, we are extremely lucky.

Funniest moment with me that you can remember?

one kind of food and drink for the rest of your life. go!

My mom calls me “The Berry Child” because I’d always sneak out to the patch behind our home as a ‘little’ and to this day I buy enough raspberries to keep Driscoll farms in business. However, if I could eat anything and it wouldn’t affect my health, chocolate. Water would be my drink of choice, because I’d rather eat my calories.

What's something that most people don't know about you?

unnamed.png

Maybe those closest to me know this, but I am a country girl at heart. I could totally live off grid in a yurt or small cabin and I desperately want two goats, a few chickens, some land for Gypsy to run around on and to grow my own food. I love tiny house shows, Alaska the last frontier and daydreaming while reading off-grid books. With that said, I still can’t wait to visit you in NYC in a few days Carlita!

What's your signature style?

Lately, whatever fits and I can zip up 😊 . During work hours, I’m usually in jeans, boots and a hard hat. On the weekends I’m in jeans, Birkenstocks, a pony tail and heals if I must.  

I just asked my boyfriend how he would describe my style and he said “Flowy Motion”. I’m not sure what that means, but I think he’s dreaming 😉.

First bucket list item that comes to mind?

The PCT (Pacific Crest Trail) always seemed a bit crazy to me, but now that my Dad, a.k.a. “Wild Turtle,” finished a substantial portion of it, the long trek could be in my future. Starting a family and having a couple of littles has always been important to me, but since it’s a bit late for that, Gypsy and my amazing niece and nephew have all my heart.

 

Life Motto:

“Let all that you do be done in love.” – 1 Corinthians 16:14

“In every walk with nature one receives far more than he seeks.” – John Muir